jump to navigation

Music, Yahoo, Microsoft, and more December 19, 2006

Posted by sk in Bollywood, Hindi Movies, Microsoft, Music.
trackback

We’re back. After a brief hiatus, here’s another random post. I’m going to start off with the current playlist on WMP 11 on my comp:

  1. All songs of Guru (except Baazi Laga)
  2. Kabul Fiza (from the movie Kabul Express)
  3. Carry on Wayward Son by Kansas*
  4. Dust in the Wind by Kansas
  5. Point of Know Return by Kansas
  6. My December by Linkin Park
  7. Feel Like Making Love by Bad Company
  8. Songs from Sillunu Oru Kadhal (Tamil movie) – if anyone says New York Nagaram was copied, I’m going to break their bones.
  9. Songs from Tehzeeb (A. R. Rahman)
  10. Saathi Na Koi from Bambai Ka Babu (An old Rafi song)
  11. A couple of songs from Zeher
  12. White Album by the Beatles.

Does anyone care what I’m listening to? I don’t know. Just wanted to let you know. 🙂 Anyway, thanks to Guru, I’ve started listening to a few Bollywood tracks again. What are you listening to, dear readers (if there are any left)?

*I actually heard this song on the radio while driving to Tucson and tried to remember a few words so that I could search for it on the net. Unfortunately, I couldn’t. Thankfully, the song played again a week later and I remembered three words, “Don’t you cry.” I searched for the phrase, “Don’t you cry rock lyrics” on the net and couldn’t find the song. Later I remember two more words, “Carry on”. This time, I searched for “Carry on don’t you cry lyrics” and found the name of the group on Google. I love Google search. I really do.

On the topic of Google, do you think Microsoft will acquire Yahoo next year? I really hope they don’t. But the way Yahoo! has been doing lately, it does seem possible. And Microsoft has already tried once this year. What do you think?

ish, I’ve taken care of the pr0n links. Thanks for pointing it out. 🙂

High five!!

Comments»

1. parmanu - December 19, 2006

I am still not able to appreciate GURU. May be another year. But I like baazi laga as much or lil better than others. I dont know why its deemed low.

My friend says Ash doesnt have a single hit movie..so already anticipating this, Rahaman wasnt paid well enough..
stupid theory, right?

I am listening to anand every day. My roomie suddenly fell in love with the movie and play those mukesh’s song every day. One of us might die just like rajesh khanna.

“On the topic of Google, do you think Microsoft will acquire Yahoo next year? ”
and this is a topic of google, because……….?

2. sk - December 19, 2006

“…and this is a topic of google, because……….?”

Think about it. Why would Microsoft want to acquire Yahoo!? 🙂

3. ish - December 20, 2006

I don’t like the music of Guru either.Kabul Fiza is an excellent song though! It grows on you and you so want to sing it.It’s even better when you’re driving.I hope Kabul Express,the movie would be nice too.Arshad Warsi has some awesome comedy timing and John proved himself it Garam Masala too.

I didn’t know you were a Linkin Park fan! I’m one too and My December is a nice song.I’ve taken a liking to High Voltage these days though.

4. ish - December 20, 2006

About MS taking over Yahoo! ,I just hope it doesn’t happen.

@Parmanu: Ash has had her hits.She hasn’t had one recently though.Actually the only hit of hers which I can remember was perhaps “Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam” with Salman Khan.Perhaps,she was better of with him.

And guys,you’re pretty close to your 20,000th visit!

5. planetsk - December 20, 2006

“…I hope Kabul Express,the movie would be nice …”

-I watched it last weekend..hmm..it’s an ok movie and the best thing is it’s only 90 min…worth appreciating that people are thinking out of the box..

@sk
Why don’t you add Green Day in your list?

Microsoft acquiring Yahoo..?
-Naa..i dont think so..may not be in another 2-3 yrs..

6. ish - December 21, 2006

@ PlanetSk

Oh thanks.I know it’s kinda short and most probably,I’ll go to see it tomorrow as my exams just finished today.

@Sk

PlanetSk is absolutely right! You should have Green Day in that list.Maybe some Coldplay too.

7. Cotton - December 21, 2006

I am listening to 1947 Earth currently..”re-discovered” it!

By the way, why do you not want msft to acquire Yahoo? Any specific reasons?

8. planetsk - December 21, 2006

off-topic comment:

Riyasen Rocks !!..look at the search engine terms and number of views in the last two days..

9. shashi - December 22, 2006

@sk
Music of Anwar is cool …try to listen to it..you will again fall in love with bollywood music

10. sk - December 22, 2006

@ish/planetsk,
I didn’t have Green Day and Coldplay on the list because they’re not currently on my playlist. I’ve listened to a few of their songs in the past though and I liked them. Same with Colelctive Soul, Pink Floyd, Dire Straits, Led Zeppelin,… 🙂

ish, I actually liked Linkin Park’s first few songs and then stopped listening to them. Recently I heard “My December” on the radio and liked it.

@shashi
I’ll listen to the songs.

@cotton/ruhi,
Yahoo! will cease to exist as an independent company and will instead be a division of a former rival. Microsoft will have two of everything – search engine, web mail, messenger, etc. Integration will be a painful task. Also, they’ve spent millions of dollars on Windows Live.

11. sk - December 23, 2006

Ceser Menendez has a list of free mp3 songs every Friday on his blog. Some of them are really cool.

12. sella - February 23, 2007

He he he, you look like a total ARR supporter.
Along with Guru, why don’t you just listen to some crappy albums by ARR like Superpolice, Pavithra, Sandhyaragam, Vandicholai sinrasu,…etc.
Pity you dude, if you still think ARR as a music genius and original composer. ARR wouldn’t survive without stealing music from Enigma, Enya, Dr Alban and other western musicians. ARR is so clever in stealing music.
What else can I say? Aiyo Aiyo.. Orey Thamasu

13. sinrasu - September 30, 2009

hai,i am sinrasu
how old are you?


Leave a Reply

