jump to navigation

India in 1700s October 18, 2006

Posted by PagMax in history, India, Maps.
trackback

The image “https://i0.wp.com/www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/historical/shepherd/india_shepherd_1923.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

The History “community” of orkut, of which I am a member, had this up for discussion. I just thought I would share it with wider public.
Its quite amusing to see the states and boundries with less known names. Its funny how spellings change with time; Nagpore, sikanderabad, Cutch, Carnatic, etc. and its also interesting how some spelling do not change with time; Madras, Calicut, Delhi, Indore, Jhansi, etc.!. My birth place Ujjain is mysteriously missing from the map. I would think being one of the oldest cities and first capital (I think, need reference) of India, its important enough to be included in there.  Region around Gujarat, ‘cutch’.  is also pretty interesting.

I will either update this post with more of my comments on the map or let that happen in the discussion section if there is indeed a ‘wider audience’ for this.

(Oh since there were couple of posts on firefox within our blogroll,
and people seem to be in love with FF, here is another reason for you
to love. If you are viewing a page in FF2.0 and use performancing for
blogging, then , you have “blog this page” option. This sure made it
easy as I didnt have to struggle with the downloading and uploading the
picture. )

Update: Picture did not make it well. So I had to manually link it to the source page. I do not know if there is a better way to do it. Its bit annoying that the picture is either too small in default or magnifies too large if we click on it.

 

Comments»

1. ruhi - October 18, 2006

“Picture did not make it well. So I had to manually link it to the source page. I do not know if there is a better way to do it.”

Yes there is…..go to Insert->Picture from Web->(Provide the url with a jpeg/.gif ending). Generally when you click on the picture, then the picture url gets displayed in the address bar. Else, you can save it on your computer and add it to flickr and get the picture url (All sizes->(choose the size)–>(look towards the end of the page)–>picture URL

“…Oh since there were couple of posts on firefox within our blogroll,
and people seem to be in love with FF, here is another reason for you
to love. ..”

I’m not too sure about being in love with the other reason.. need to check with my heart first!

I want to comment about India in the 17th century..probably in my next comment. Else, this one will turn into a post!

2. ruhi - October 18, 2006

Btw I’m talking about WLW..ofcourse…I love it..any comments on that?

3. Tismar Khan - October 18, 2006

Thanks for the tip ruhi..I never used flickr, but I shud sometime.

“Btw I’m talking about WLW..ofcourse…I love it”
and thats related to 17th century India because…???

Actaully its my fault, we have too many posts and arguments on firefox\performancing\WLW.., I shouldnt have mentioned browser or writer in here.

4. shrav - October 18, 2006

1) the “blog this with wlw” plugin doesn’t work with ff2.0 btw. 😦
i’ve installed it for IE though.
2) steve jobs is cocky.
3) cricket is a boring game

now for something on topic:
I think you should update the post with your comments and the discussion from orkut.should be interesting.

btw, does anyone know how to disable the spell checker? it’s getting on my nerves now.

5. ruhi - October 18, 2006

I remember studying about the Mughals expanding their kingdom to cover some states in the South in the 17th century. It was in the 17th century that the East India Company established its first factory at Surat. I found a link on the internet that talks about this in details:

http://www.historyworld.net/wrldhis/PlainTextHistories.asp?paragraphid=hkl#hkl

6. Hiren - October 18, 2006

Interesting. However what seems more interesting is how Indians never change despite adverse expereriences. Gurcharan Das describes in India unbound how the lack of teamwork of Indians can be traced right back to Alexander’s time. Its not just certain names that have status quo- style and substance go hand in hand.

7. Amit Tikoo - October 18, 2006

Try MapmyIndia v-2007. It is just like Google Maps/Yahoo Maps. In fact, even better, MapmyIndia is focused on India. Visit http://www.mapmyindia.com today.

8. shrav - October 18, 2006

I don’t know what to believe and what not to believe when I read history. We’re not reading a depiction of events that occurred but rather, the historians version of the events. So, history depends to a great extent on the historians thoughts, ideas, political viewpoint, influences, etc. As tismar said, one man’s revolutionary is another man’s freedom fighter. And this is not restricted to India.

9. Tismar Khan - October 18, 2006

@shrav
Yes I shud have put my comments, but then I thought I will let it open. If someone picks up a ‘geographical area’ worthy of discussion, so be it. I might may be write some other post on history, may be more specific.

U r right. History depends on person who is telling it. When I read books I try my best to research on neutrality of the author and even after that u have to always remember it as ‘so and so happened ACCORDING to him/her’. Although sometimes I enjoy completely biased readings so that I can say “oh this is what THEY think. How lame!”

@ruhi
Yes, it was the this tendency(of mughals and others) to expand, brits exploited on, with their famous ‘divide and rule’ policy. No one was clear on who their enemy was, brits, mughals or their neighbors!

@hiren
“However what seems more interesting is how Indians never change despite adverse expereriences.”
Everyone changes, some for good some for bad. It just happened or appeared to happen we changed more for bad than for good. [debatable].

@Amit,
Thanks for the link. I will use that in my future posts.

10. IndianPad - October 18, 2006

India in 1700s – Check Map

India in 1700s – Check Map posted at IndianPad.com

11. planetsk - October 18, 2006

“However what seems more interesting is how Indians never change despite adverse expereriences.”
-We Indians did change with time..whether for good or bad..depends on how you look at things…change is mandatory to make history.

“It just happened or appeared to happen we changed more for bad than for good.”
– More for bad..?? I’d say we changed to survive or live better…I think good/bad are decided depending on the consequences of the change made…however,making a change is driven by things such as social status, education, may be selfishness etc.,..what the hell am I talking..??

“Yes, it was the this tendency(of mughals and others) to expand, brits exploited on, with their famous ‘divide and rule’ policy. No one was clear on who their enemy was, brits, mughals or their neighbors!”
-Brits were making more ground during 18th Century or late 1700’s when Mughal era was declining..and some crazy native kings supported Brits to establish their units…also Hindu-Muslim friction which arised during the same century helped Angrez to dominate more and more..My memory is not in a bad shape I guess..

12. shrav - October 18, 2006

“-Brits were making more ground during 18th Century or late 1700’s when Mughal era was declining..and some crazy native kings supported Brits to establish their units…also Hindu-Muslim friction which arised during the same century helped Angrez to dominate more and more..My memory is not in a bad shape I guess.. ”

Mine is, apparently. Where was I when all this happened?? Just kidding. But, you both should do a post/ counter post on this – should be interesting.

13. Tismar Khan - October 18, 2006

@indiapad.
Glad that you used my post on your blog. Although I think you did not quote me when you said,
“The History “community” of orkut, had this up for discussion.”

as general statement as it is, its just too much of coincdince that we both framed it that way!!. I do not mind anyways, so dont bother.
Cannot comment on your blog bcos i need to register.

@planetsk
I was abt to react the same way shrav did. How did I miss all this!!

“..More for bad..??..”
Told you. Its debatable. I was just referring to the fact that we are not as rich as we were back then. Something must have gone wrong, eh! But again, there are different ways u can look at it.

@shrav
“..you both should do a post/ counter post on this – should be interesting..”
Good idea. Another addition to my list!

14. planetsk - October 19, 2006

“I was abt to react the same way shrav did. How did I miss all this!!”
-Hehehe..those were the days..memories from one of my previous births..more than just kidding..

15. Glenn Livingston - May 28, 2010

Really great article! Truely..


Leave a Reply

