jump to navigation

Firefox 2.0 is blazing fast October 17, 2006

Posted by sk in Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Technology and Software, windows.
trackback

I switched from Firefox 1.5 to IE7 a few months ago because I loved some of the new features in IE7, especially how the tab feature was implemented. I also found IE7 to perform better. Yesterday, I decided to finally try Firefox 2.0 and I’m amazed at how fast it is. It’s amazingly fast and I haven’t run into any issues so far. It doesn’t feel like a pre-release software. Of course, I’ve been using it only for a day now and my opinion may change in future. But as of now, FF 2.0 is a clear winner in my book. Here’s a list of features that I like in IE and FF. IE7:

  1. It works without needing any plugins
  2. The UI is very cool and thoughtful
  3. The Quick tabs feature is awesome, especially if you have multiple tabs open
  4. A link to open a new tab is provided right next to the last opened tab.

Firefox 2.0:

  1. It’s fast – blazing fast
  2. It has a spell-checker (though I don’t see any need for it)*
  3. It’s highly customizable
  4. Performance is better than IE7’s

So, if you haven’t downloaded FF 2.0 yet, RC3 is available here. *UPDATE: The spell-checker is useful while commenting or posting directly to a blog from WP’s web interface. It does get annoying in the sense that it doesn’t recognize internet slangs.

 

Comments»

1. ruhi - October 17, 2006

I find the spell checker to be actually an added advantage. I always always forget to run a spell checker on my posts. So, the “in-line” spell checker works fine for me 🙂

Oh, did I mention that I’m in love with FF 2.0?

2. Tismar Khan - October 17, 2006

“A link to open a new tab is provided right next to the last opened tab”
I think so is it in FF2, but instead of a link/small tab, u can just click anywhere on area right of the last tab, and it will open a new tab for u.

I read lot of reviwes abt FF2 being fast, its on my system for a while. I didnt see a considerbale difference. but thats may be bcos my computer is slow in general.

one thing which I like abt IE and I did not find in FF2(and I am sure its there, I cudnt find it) is you can have multiple tabs, set as ur home page. I think FF needs a plug-in for that.

@ruhi
“Oh, did I mention that I’m in love with FF 2.0? ”

Congratulations Ruhi. I hope FF 2.0 is also in love with u.

3. shrav - October 17, 2006

“I think so is it in FF2, but instead of a link/small tab, u can just click anywhere on area right of the last tab, and it will open a new tab for u.”

Ahhh. Didn’t know that – not very intuitive. I just tried it and it’s a double click and it works, but it’s still a click too much. 🙂

Everything about it is surprisingly faster on my comp – loading, opening web pages, etc. I guess it’s because IE comes with more built-in functionality. I don’t know.

I hate installing plugins by the way. One or two are fine, but I’d hate to keep installing plugins for every small thing.

4. sickr - October 18, 2006

For some strange unknown reason the inbuilt spell checker on 2.0 doesn’t seem to be working. I have the feature enabled in the advanced options menu, but still the spell checker won’t appear in text boxes. Anyone have any idea whatsoever as to the reason behind this?

-Sickr

5. shrav - October 18, 2006

I can’t think of anything. So you don’t get the red squiggly (or dots) under misspelled words?? Have you tried misspelling words?? 🙂 Maybe you could try reinstalling FF, but I don’t think that would really help.

6. Tismar Khan - October 18, 2006

r u sure ‘check spelling as u type’ box is unchecked? It works for me.
its under tools\options\advanced.


Leave a Reply

