jump to navigation

Windows Live Mail Desktop (Beta) Screenshots September 28, 2006

Posted by sk in Computers & Internet, Microsoft, screenshots, Technology and Software, Windows Live Mail Desktop.
trackback

These are screenshots of Version 8.0.1034 released a few days back.

wlm1

A separate mailbox is created for each account. This is a pretty useful feature wlm2that has existed in Thunderbird for some time now. All e-mails are grouped together in the folder “Browse all mail”. I have no idea why I have 90 total unread mails and only 82 unread mails in all inboxes. I’d love to know how that’s possible! It’s easy to add e-mail accounts – simply click on the “Add an e-mail account” link and the wizard will take care of you. You can also configure News settings by clicking on the news tab at the top. There’s also an RSS tab where you can read RSS feeds. The Contacts tab brings up Windows Live Contacts (your hotmail contacts) and the Calendar tab opens your Hotmail calendar in an internet browser.

It’s easy to add search folders to “Browse all mail” folder. Simply right click on browse mail and select the Search folders from the list.

wlm3

Here’s an example of an RSS feed in WLMD.

wlm4

Comments»

1. ruhi - September 28, 2006

Mr. Zune, I prefer not commenting on this software!! lol.. nice shots though 🙂

2. Tismar - September 28, 2006

“..Mr. Zune, I prefer not commenting on this software!! lol.. nice shots though..”
u prefer not commenting by commenting..??
yea that makes sense..
now Mr. Zune Max,
live mail might look prettier than thunderbird
only catch is if u r not a hotmail user..
and u still want to try it, it gets bit confusing, first u sign up for a hotmail account, then it ask u to sign up for a live.com account, then it ask to sign up for live desktop mail accoun..
i was totally confused why its asking me to sign up so many times…
on the whole, if u do not have active hotmail account, then i think its not worth signing up for one to read ur other emails…,thunderbird might just do everything for u, without asking u to sign up single time..

3. ruhi - September 28, 2006

“if u r not, and u still want to try it, it gets bit confusing, first u sign up for a hotmail account, then it ask u to sign up for a live.com account, then it ask to sign up for live desktop mail accoun..
i was totally confused why its asking me to sign up so many times…
on the whole, if u do not have active hotmail account, then i think its not worth signing up for one to read ur other emails…,thunderbird might just do everything for u, without asking u to sign up single time..”

rofl..Tismar I agree! Infact, I downloaded it after zune recommended it..16 MB got wasted..its going on asking me to sign again n again.. I use bloglines for my feeds so that I can open it anywhere I want to…

4. sk - September 28, 2006

tismy,
I’ve just put up screenshots. I’m not recommending the software. I’ll put up screenshots of Thunderbird and Evolution if you want. Anyway, this is FOR HOTMAIL USERS ONLY. So it will ask for your user name and password….duh

BTW, You can save them, you know, so that it won’t ask for it again and again? Or, of course, you can make it as complicated as you want to… and…

5. Tismar - September 28, 2006

“..I’ll put up screenshots of Thunderbird and Evolution if you want…”
why wud I want that?? I just made a comparison same way u JUST put up the screenshots, if you want I will take out the comment [i partly did]!
“..FOR HOTMAIL USERS ONLY. So it will ask for your user name and password….duh ..”
“..You can save them, you know, so that it won’t ask for it again and again? ..”
I didnt say it asked me to sign in, i said it asked me to SIGN UP, first for hotmail, next for live.com, and next for live beta..
and i found it bit confusing, what is so duh abt it?
and didnt i just say the same thing..if u r not a hotmail user, its not good for u..,

6. Tismar - September 28, 2006

“..If you hate Microsoft or are an Open Source software proponent, ..”
u can NOT hate MS and NOT be an OpenSource proponent, and still consider other alternatives..
for one simple reason: if u do not have HOTMAIL account and do not want a new email account!
at least for me, it works that way!!

“..If you do download the software and have any problems with this software, go to morethanmail.spaces.live.com. Please don’t trouble me! ..”

does that include not commenting abt the problems here because its not a ‘review’ per say?? in that case, i apologize from the very bottom of my heart and every inch of my soul…

7. sk - September 28, 2006

“u can NOT hate MS and NOT be an OpenSource proponent”

You can. Just get a Mac. OS X, although based on *nix is not Open Source. Even the converse is not true, by the way.

“does that include not commenting abt the problems here because its not a ‘review’ per say?? in that case, i apologize from the very bottom of my heart and every inch of my soul… ”

No. It’s your opinion. You have every right to express it. But don’t install it and blame me if it doesn’t work. I am not recommending it. By the way, I thought it was pretty obvious that “Windows Live Mail Desktop” meant desktop version of “Windows Live Mail” but I guess not and I’m not being snarky here.

8. Thamesportal - September 28, 2006

hangout, relax (29) owl. (5) something. (5)

9. Thamesportal - September 28, 2006

white ants, or termites. (5) little (36) to scowl, to be angry (1)

10. sk - September 28, 2006

“rofl..Tismar I agree! Infact, I downloaded it after zune recommended it..16 MB got wasted..its going on asking me to sign again n again.. I use bloglines for my feeds so that I can open it anywhere I want to… ”

You’ve already insulted me twice on this blog. 8 more and you’ll never know what hit you!!!

11. Tismar - September 28, 2006

“..You can. Just get a Mac. ..”
either u got me wrong there or I do not understand the response,
all I am saying for anyone to NOT consider windows live mail desktop, only conditions need not be hating ms or liking opensource, there are other reasons too..like not having a hotmail acccount.
one can easily not have an hotmail account even they do not hate ms or love opensource softwares, people like me, and hence its not a good software for me. I did agree that it looks prettier than thunderbird and can do everything else which an email client shud do.

“..But don’t install it and blame me if it doesn’t work. I am not recommending it. ..”

are u serious? at least I never saw a comment to a software review where user ‘blames’ the reviwer for not having it work the right way. Even if urs was a ‘review’, i wud be really surprised if some one wud actually ‘blame’ u. I install a software almost every day on my computer, try it, and throw it if I dont like it. I am sure thats the way its supose to work..! Everyone knows they are responsible for what they are installing, whether u officially ‘recommend’ or not, does not matter. I think. If I just see a mention of a software anywhere..and if i find it appealing, i will try it anyways…

“..Windows Live Mail Desktop” meant desktop version of “Windows Live Mail”..”
thats one source of confusion..i did not know there was something called windows live mail..!!
all i knew abt was hotmail..!

12. sk - September 28, 2006

“all I am saying for anyone to NOT consider windows live mail desktop, only conditions need not be hating ms or liking opensource”

No. Even I never said that or even implied that. I just said that if you do hate Microsoft or are an Open Source proponent, there are alternatives. That doesn’t mean these alternatives are not available if you don’t fit those two categories.

“one can easily not have an hotmail account even they do not hate ms or love opensource softwares”

Yes, but if one does hate MS or is an Open Source proponent, there’s a very low likelihood that he’ll have a hotmail account. So, you see? My statement is justified.

“are u serious?”
When am I not serious?

13. ruhi - September 28, 2006

“You’ve already insulted me twice on this blog. 8 more and you’ll never know what hit you!!!”

Okay, it wasnt an “insult” per se. I was just kidding. I’m already using it.

14. sk - September 28, 2006

I just edited your comment from “It sucks. I uninstalled it after one look at it” to “I was just kidding. I’m already using it. ” Hope you don’t mind!

15. ruhi - September 28, 2006

no you havent!!! Its still the same zune. Btw, ill do 8 more 🙂 It’ll be foolish not to exercise my options. I have a call option here.

16. planetsk - September 29, 2006

what the heck is going on??

17. Tismar - September 29, 2006

@planet
“..what the heck is going on??
..”
nothing planetsk, as usual zuney is talking abt some software and I am commenting in every possible way to annoy him. I am just hoping for some free cocunuts for upcoming diwali pooja.

“..low likelihood that he’ll have a hotmail account. ..”
HE will??
you sexist…, did not u read phony’s blog which u referred to us on how to blog and how to comment…?
how do u know that this ‘microsoft hater’ u r talking abt is a HE not a SHE.

18. sk - September 29, 2006

Phony is a plagiarizer. I’m going to complain to the authorities. Just kidding! I don’t follow all of phony’s tips anyway, as I pointed out in the post!! 🙂

19. Muhammad Ahsan Izhar - February 25, 2007

HI, I have installed the Windows Live Mail Desktop. But I am facing a problem. That when I start the Application it asks me the Username and Password. After given them when I click on Sign In button. It begain to process and process and process and there is not result comes out.


Leave a Reply

