jump to navigation

(1) WordPress “more feature” / (2) Click Fraud September 25, 2006

Posted by sk in Blogroll, Computers & Internet.
trackback

I just discovered this. What do you do when you’ve written a long, long post that takes up all the space on the first page? You use WordPress’s “more feature” to display only a small portion of the post. This is how it’s done:

  • edit the post
  • click on the html tab on the editing page
  • decide how much of the post you want displayed on the front page and add this tag after that “<!–more–>” (text within quotes)
  • now see the result – your post is automatically truncated on the display page and the text that is removed is replaced with a link that says, “(more…)”
  • for examples, see my posts, “My first impressions of the Zune” and “Get a Mac”.
  • you can also put in your own text instead… instructions are given here.

If you already knew this, why didn’t you tell me so?

BTW, I usually combine a couple of posts together, so here’s the second: there’s a nice article by Ruhi about click fraud and how it affects the online advertising industry. What’s more, someone by the name of shravan has written some very interesting comments on that page. πŸ™‚ Do take a look at it when you get a chance.

UPDATE (9/26/06): Check out my review of Microsoft codename Max here.

Comments»

1. ruhi - September 25, 2006

Ahh, the “more” option is interesting!Thanks a lot for that handy tip (esp. for html challenged people like me) I knew there is something like that..but it never worked for me..lol. I’ll try it out now πŸ˜› By the way, if you go to Options ->Reading-> (Something to do with showing only some part in the feeds)..but this is only for those who read your feeds! You make them click on the post title and come to your blog to read the entire thing πŸ˜‰

Another thing, sometimes my blog shows my posts with the “more” tab and most of the times it doesnt!

2. shravan - September 25, 2006

I noticed the option in Options->Reading too and that’s why I did a web search for it. About the “more” tab automatically appearing, I have no idea why it would do that. πŸ™‚

3. tismarkhan - September 25, 2006

I knew that one of theme does that to every post by default and u cud configure how much you want to truncate..
i suspected it had to be something in the html tags, i just did not bother much.

actually until yesterday I did not know u cud stretch the writing area on wordpress to see everything u write. I was just trying to scroll through long posts on that short editing area which is present by default, and hence I found it imppossible to write on wordpress without any blog writer..! now its not that bad!

4. About my Blog « Time and Again - September 25, 2006

[…] P.S. Shravan has a good post on how to use the “more” tab that lets the viewers see only a part of your ramblings. I have used his tips here! […]

5. Phoenix - September 26, 2006

About the “more” tab, I am sure nobody will click on it, if I used it on my blog!!

(About the comments on Ruhi’s page..shameless self-advertising Mr. Shravan! :P)

6. Mohak - September 28, 2006

There has been a significant amount of resistance from websites/publishers to use Third-Party Ad Serving in India.

Now why may I ask? Click fraud, even fraud in impressions/impression positions is what I can see!

Mohak

7. shravan - September 28, 2006

Ahh, I didn’t know that. That makes sense, though.

8. D.D.B. - February 9, 2011

the

http://helpadora.wordpress.com/

is a total NIGERIAN SCAM they ask u to send money to people in AFRICA!!!

PLease report this to WORDPRESS.COM


Leave a Reply

