jump to navigation

Get a MacBook September 21, 2006

Posted by sk in Computers & Internet, Humor, Technology and Software.
trackback

errr… because your cat will love it.

UPDATE: Mr. Tismarkhan convinced me not to stop blogging about software, so here’s another post (I’m grouping it with the Mac one). If, like me, you constantly work with (as in read) pdf files and are frustrated at how slow Adobe Acrobat Reader is, Foxit Reader is a nice and light alternative. Version 2.0 was released a few days back. It’s available for download at: http://www.foxitsoftware.com/. This is what they have to say about the software:
 Incredibly small: The download size of Foxit Reader is only 1.5 M which is a fraction of Acrobat Reader 20 M size

  • Breezing-fast: When you run Foxit Reader, it launches instantly without any delay. You are not forced to view an annoying splash window displaying company logo, author names, etc.
  • Annotation tool: Have you ever wished to annotate (or comment on) a PDF document when you are reading it? Foxit Reader 2.0 allows you to draw graphics, highline text, type text and make notes on a PDF document and then print out or save the annotated document.
  • Text converter: You may convert the whole PDF document into a simple text file.
  • High security and privacy: Foxit Reader highly respects the security and privacy of users and will never connect to Internet without users’ permission. While Acrobat Reader often silently connect to the Internet in the background.

This is great stuff. It’s definitely not as clunky as Acrobat Reader. In fact, it feels like reading a Word Document. By the way, I’m thinking of having a separate page for technology and software on this blog and moving all the posts there (if that’s possible) so that the blog stays focussed on more important issues like SRK’s dances and Anu Malik’s songs. What say?

UPDATE 2: Read some of the reviews here. And here’s another cool feature:

Interactive form filler: Now you don’t have to print out PDF forms first and then manually fill out paper forms. Instead, you can use PC to fill out interactive forms directly, and then print them out, save them, email them or export the form data into FDF file for further processing.

Wonder if it works!!

Comments»

1. Ruhi - September 21, 2006

I wish I were the cat in question 😛 Atleast I would have a Mac to play with!

2. shravan - September 21, 2006

I know. That would be cool. I’d love to jump on a Mac too! Just kidding.

Now, is this how Laloo’s “bhaiss” uses his computer?

3. planetsk - September 21, 2006

Good Info and a funny video..imagine cat getting cooked on Mac..

Opening larger files (mostly in PDF) is frustrating..sometimes the window freezes and an error window pops up..saying some weird message..anyways,the tool u mentioned might help..

Yeah, u shud continue blogging abt software and Tech.(thats the reason why I say Khan is MVP..convincing ppl) and also moving all the posts abt Tech. to a different page is a good idea so that Laloo,SRK and Anu cannot interfere with technological issues.

“Now, is this how Laloo’s “bhaiss” uses his computer? ”
-Laloo’s bhaiss may be working on servers while eating the scammed fodder.

4. ruhi - September 21, 2006

Laloo’s bhaiis is busy working on a newer version of iMac…you shouldnt be asking me such silly questions.

On a more serious note, you should keep this blog for more serious (and important) stuff like SRK and preferably, Brad Pitt 😀 You could write about his recent exchange with Paramount Pictures 😀 😀 😛 Who wants to read about technology when you got SRK right???!!

Thank you for the foxit reader information…until I read this post, I had no idea about it 😀 Will try it out for sure

5. tismarkhan - September 21, 2006

I just downloaded both the reader and the writer (evaluation) and my immediate reviews

1. Not polite: It should have asked me before making it a default for opening all my pdf files. May be it did during installation keeping all the boxes checked, but as a polite software it should have popped up a window and asked do you want to do that..

2. Light, indeed!: yes its light, downloads quickly and works smoothly.

3. Does not have ‘read out loud’ feature which is updated in adobe (I dont need that anyways)

4. Transition to full screen is not smooth, (windows jumps), and has an annoying button (which would take you back to normal view) which does not seem to go away in full-screen mode. I am not making my presentation with that button on. May be there is way u can make it go away, I just could not notice it.

5. Editing and commenting features are good but some of them comes with pro-version.

6. Good for tex users, who want to have their documents commented online by some reviewer. Can easily do it in word, but since tex creates only pdf documents, reviewer cannot make online comments.

7. I was hoping for a word-counter feature. I dont see it in adobe or here.
May be converting it to tex and then have some other software count the words is a solution but still not any sophisticated method. Another feature which tex users can use.

On the whole, I still like adobe..or may be its just the inertia. Funny, I never found adobe to be slow and I work with all the time.

I just spendt 10 minutes with this one, so I might have missed something…!

6. shravan - September 21, 2006

@planetsk:
“Good Info and a funny video..imagine cat getting cooked on Mac..”
Hehe. That would have been hilarious!!!

“Laloo’s bhaiss may be working on servers while eating the scammed fodder.”
🙂

@ruhi:
“…you shouldnt be asking me such silly questions.”
Sorry, madamji! Will never ever ask any silly question again.

“Thank you for the foxit reader information…”
Sure! 🙂

@Mr.tismarkhan:

” It should have asked me before making it a default for opening all my pdf files. ”
It did ask me. Maybe it doesn’t like you.

” I am not making my presentation with that button on. May be there is way u can make it go away, I just could not notice it.”
Ohh, you use pdf for presentations? I haven’t checked full screen functionality because I use Powerpoint for presentations.

“On the whole, I still like adobe..or may be its just the inertia. Funny, I never found adobe to be slow and I work with all the time.”
Hmmm.

“On the whole, I still like adobe..or may be its just the inertia. Funny, I never found adobe to be slow and I work with all the time.”

Hmm. I’ve always found it to be slow, clunky and a memory hog. foxit may not work as well with tex, though. By the way, for those who use Word, foxit is compatible with:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/pdfcreator

Also, I’ve added a link that contains reviews of the product (all versions).

7. Hiren - September 21, 2006

Just got a laptop. Can’t get another one so soon but nice to know.

8. tismarkhan - September 21, 2006

“..Ohh, you use pdf for presentations?..”
sure do. Go LaTeX..!! Dump Office..!!

“..foxit may not work as well with tex, though. ..”
I dont know. TeX just makes a pdf document. Its upto you if you want to read it in adobe or foxit. Yes the text edititing feature of foxit is of no use to latex user who is creating that document. You can directly edit your input tex file.but as i said, a third party reviewer of that file, can make comments on pdf through foxit, which is cool.

“..I’ve always found it to be slow, clunky and a memory hog….”
I am sure u do this but just making sure, do u update ur adobe regularly or whenever it prompts u to? They always seem to add new features and never really gave me issues. but then may be its just relative. u might have high expectations!

“..Interactive form filler: Now you don’t have to print out PDF forms first and then manually fill out paper forms…”

I thought that depends on how the document is created not on the reader. I have filled lot of forms interactively (tax forms) on adobe too. I was under the impression that was because taht document was created that way. (I dont know how) but yes this one even edits as a text, so even if the document is not created to be intearctve form filller, you can just scribble your entries on there. Thats how I look at it

9. tismarkhan - September 21, 2006

oh yes, I like the separate page idea for software..
even I had some ideas for specialized pages which might not gel that well with anu malik and srk.

10. shravan - September 21, 2006

“…but then may be its just relative. u might have high expectations!”

Considering that it’s an extremely popular download on CNet and that PC Mag has rated it one of the top freebies, I don’t think I’m alone in my disenchanment with Adobe. FWIW, I opened a document on a 1.6 GHz AMD Turion processor with 512MB Ram and Win XP Home computer in Foxit and on a 2.4 Ghz Intel Core Duo processor with 2GB Ram and Win XP professional. Guess what – it was faster and smoother on Foxit, but… we already knew that, right? Or maybe the playing field wasn’t level – after all, what’s a Dual Core, 2gig thinkpad compared to a 512 meg Compaq?

“Go LaTeX..!! Dump Office..!!”
Haha. Frankly, don’t get a job in the industry. It won’t be worth it. My roommate has had to start using Word.

11. tismarkhan - September 21, 2006

“..Haha. Frankly, don’t get a job in the industry. It won’t be worth it. My roommate has had to start using Word..”

Your roommate is about to get on my nerves now..he is being referred too often..!! j/k..yes I agree u can never really get rid of word and power point because everyone dont use latex..but depends on the company as well.
IBM has a separate department for developing latex packages which they apparently use for all internal purposes…
I use some of them too..

12. shravan - September 21, 2006

No. I’m not talking about software companies. IBM, HP, Google, Novell all develop and use a lot of Open Source software. Most other big companies use Microsoft products and this is mainly because of the support. When a company pays for Microsoft software, it is paying mainly for product support. Open Source software is more popular in the academic community. Latex and Word are totally different tools.

By the way, talking about open source software, I love how easy it is to export a doc file to pdf in Open Office Writer. Word 2007 had a similar functionality but Adobe complained and got it removed.

13. tismarkhan - September 22, 2006

“..No…”
No to what? It depending on the company or IBM using latex. I never said u r talking abt only software companies. I just gave one example.

“..Latex and Word are totally different tools. ..”
well..Thats no brainer, of course they are different.

“..Most other big companies use Microsoft products and this is mainly because of the support….”
True for windows. I cant really imagine lot of support being used for Word/PowerPoint. But as I said I DO AGREE most of the companies would use office and I think thats because they just dont think latex is worth it and may be ther r justified in that..quality of their documents might not be their high priority. i.e. if they care which software their employees use. Some might not care at all.

“..Open Source software is more popular in the academic community…”
Sure. But that does not throw latex out of the ‘industy community’. Its is still dubbed as ‘Industry standard for Typesetting’! Some industry just might not care abt that standard!!

phew..! I need to have a blog on LaTeX now. Acually thats one of my idea for a new page!!

14. Phoenix - September 22, 2006

I have been using Foxit Reader for ages.. it is modest but does the job. I dont need the bells and whistles anyways! 🙂

15. Phoenix - September 22, 2006

acrobat splash screen itself takes 2 days..by tht time foxit can open ten files
..
Anybody in their right mind should use foxit..of course u cant blame them if they dont knw of its existence!
foxit is good, acrobat reader is bad. period.

16. shravan - September 22, 2006

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,2009378,00.asp

Why Word survives.

“Anybody in their right mind should use foxit..of course u cant blame them if they dont knw of its existence! foxit is good, acrobat reader is bad. period. ”

hehe. what say Mr.Khan?

17. tismarkhan - September 22, 2006

abt foxit,
u got me there. I am generally not in my right mind…

why would some one in their ‘right mind’ NOT switch to a software which has printing issues, has a weak search engine, whose sidebar and full screen sucks. Look at the flip side, it would save u 60 mb of space. oh wait u dont want to throw adobe out because it still has some unique features, (better full screen, read out loud  or may be more) which u might need sometime. Fast..? sure. 2.5 seconds vs. 3 seconds. yes, i really need that 0.5 second..!!

Not that I really enjoy disliking every software which shravan likes, but I have my reasons for this one and at least few people in the user review link would agree with me..!!

abt word,
I am pretty sure i said that word does a pretty good job for WYSIWYG editor. between u and me, I never said word is a bad software.

18. shravan - September 22, 2006

you’re right. Better full screen and read out loud are killer features that justify the extra 0.5 seconds to open the file and 10 seconds to show the splash screen with author names (to Adobe’s credit, 7.0 is slightly better in that regard). It’s not about space at all. 60 megs is not going to destroy your computer. It’s, in fact, about memory usage (RAM) and that is crucial. As I had pointed out, the same document loaded faster and was less clunky on Foxit. Acrobat Reader comes preinstalled with most computers so I never advised removing it. I haven’t. I’ll keep Acrobat Reader for those documents that don’t render properly in Foxit (haven’t seen one yet) and will use Foxit for everything else. Hey, but if it doesn’t work for you.. it doesn’t.

Regarding Word, it was an interesting article. That’s all. I find it interesting how Word, being as crappy as it is has survived this long. There are two things I’ve realized about it:

1. If you want to write a 200-300 page document in Word, good luck to you. Seriously.

2. For everything else, please learn how to typeset text and equations, keyboard shortcuts etc. in word before attempting to write. The advantaage of Latex is that it forces you to spend time learning it. Word doesn’t, which results in some poorly written documents.

19. tismarkhan - September 23, 2006

“…You are not forced to view an annoying splash window displaying company logo, author names, etc..”

U can opt out splash window in adobe too
edit/preferences/startup…!

adobe 6 indeed forced us to stare at splash screen for upto a minute..adobe 7.0.8., unless u did something wrong, even with splash window opens in less than 3 seconds (I checked on 3 different computers today..home and professional)

i dont know why i am rallying for adobe so much..as if they r paying me for it.!!

20. sesso gratis - January 22, 2007

sesso gratis

news


Leave a Reply

