jump to navigation

He-ee-eey main hoon d-d-d-don September 17, 2006

Posted by sk in Bollywood.
trackback

 5163612_don6.jpg

*Bollywood fest continues on Sparksengr*

Looks like our guys are tired of copying Hollywood movies, so now they’ve started remaking old movies. What would be interesting is to see if someone remakes a movie that was originally inspired by a Hollywood flick.

Bollywood this week has this to say about the music:

Most awaiting [sic] film is SRK’s Don. Music is spectacular and rocking. Shankar-Ehasan-Loy has given their best music in this film. All songs are fantastic and you definately thrilled after listening to them. Listen to all the songs of Don (short clips) and enjoy this musical bonanza..

WHA?? Say it again? Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy have done what? I’m sorry, but I still feel Kalyanji-Anandji’s versions of the songs sound better. Why would you remix Asha’s immortal “Yeh Mera Dil” and make Sunidhi sing it? It sucks, SEL, sucks!!! You filthy murderers, you’ve murdered one of my favorite songs. Ahem!

As far as the movie is concerned, I have one word, “Why?”

By the way, don’t you think justice will be served if DDLJ is remade with Amitabh in the lead? Just a thought!

Comments»

1. ruhi - September 17, 2006

I just listened to Don’s music once..I couldnt take it..its like some kind of poison killing me slowly…as for looking forward to it, that will be one among many movies which I WONT WATCH!! Dammit..why the hell should I drive all the way to some big city to watch SRK repeating his million kinds of facial expressions???!!

Bolly needs to grow up… the faster, the better. Sending Paheli for Oscar?? I knew that this industry is run by no-brainers..but this piece of news really gave me a BIG jolt.

2. tismarkhan - September 17, 2006

“..Looks like our guys are tired of copying Hollywood movies…”

Not yet…because

“…..As far as the movie is concerned, I have one word, “Why?” …..”

thats why…

This remaking is the hollywood inspired concept..
omen, ocenas11, charlie and chocolate factory, stepford wives..and lot others..and even there almost all the new version sucked up as much as they could..I liked new omen best among the remakes though.

Anycase, I think this remaking is just another example of issues with creativity in bollywood. but if they stay true to the story and dont tamper it a lot, I think it would be pleasent to see.

Ramgopal is making sholay-2. I will be curious to see that.

“…By the way, don’t you think justice will be served if DDLJ is remade with Amitabh in the lead? Just a thought!…”

I can already imagine Jaya dancing in the rain ..”mere khwabo mekoi aaye”..
hmm..might just work.

3. sk - September 17, 2006

“Bolly needs to grow up… the faster, the better.”
It has. Watch Naughty boy (my roommate forced me to). It’s probably the best ever movie made in bollywood. Rahul Roy – the Aashiqui guy – rocks!!!

“Ramgopal is making sholay-2. I will be curious to see that.”

Yeah, “Ramgopal Verma ka Sholay”
AAAAAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. Made me snort tea out of my nose. AHAHAHAHAHA.

“I can already imagine Jaya dancing in the rain ..’mere khwabo mekoi aaye’..
hmm..might just work. ”

It will. Trust me. It will. Jaya’s first rain song, eh?

4. planetsk - September 17, 2006

“Ramgopal is making sholay-2. I will be curious to see that.”

-Why is he doing that?? It seems his new movie Shiva-2006 (yeah..sequel to the super hit Shiva back in 90’s..which is one of my fav.movies)sucked big time..i think after “Company” none of his movies made big..and now Sholay-2…i think he’s out of gas and making movies like Sholay-2…but it gives us something to blog about..thanks RGV.

Awaiting Mani Rathnam’s “Guru”..when is it going to be released??

5. sk - September 17, 2006

Diwali, I think. Check this out.

6. tismarkhan - September 17, 2006

honestly, I like ram gopal..his sarkar, darna mana hai and zaroori hai were quiet good, at least i liked it, and so was darwaza khula rakho..

i mean at least he has new ideas…shiva would suck big time though. I saw one trailer and I puked. didnt see promos of guru or don yet.

sholay-2 mite be fun to watch..not that i expect a whole lot but at least comparing everyone with original ones..I like doing it even with english ones.., but again if he tampers sholay .. something like new amitabh and jaya would live together happily..i wud hate that.

7. sk - September 18, 2006

“Ramgopal Verma ka Sholay”

AAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

8. planetsk - September 18, 2006

Anyone who can get the count of A’s and H’s in the previous comment by sk..:)

9. sk - September 18, 2006

“Anyone who can get the count of A’s and H’s in the previous comment by sk..:)”

Can anyone imagine how hard and long I laughed? Anyone seen Munnabhai 2? I watched the movie yesterday at a local cinema. Definitely funnier than the original and Sanjay is a great dancer.

10. planetsk - September 18, 2006

Yeah, I watched Munnai Bhai -2..its a good movie..liked it..after Rang De..the only movie I enjoyed the most this year..

11. tismarkhan - September 18, 2006

“..Can anyone imagine how hard and long I laughed? ..”

I had a tough time there understanding whether you were lauging, crying in pain, or just plain excited..

and until now, I did not realize rgv is naming the movie ‘ram gopal verma ka sholay’

It sounds so $*# …and grammaticaly stupid…

I almost pu…,,uhh. on second thoughts even I snorted tea out my nose.

I did not watch Munnabhai 2 but I am yet to find a person who did not like the movie..I hated first part because they showed doctors so stupid.., so I will watch this one with hell of prejudice..letz..

12. ashutosh - September 19, 2006

I liked the idea of amitabh doing DDLJ rather than srk doing Don. Anyone doing Don, I would have appreciated, not SRK. What would he say “Main hoon DaDaDaDaDaDon”. I think then they should change the name of the movie to “Hakla Don”, and try to make some sort of parody or something. And I am not sure how coudl they stick to the Don story. I mean, don was a action movie, and, SRK and action are like peas and potatos. Odd at looks, odd in taste and only people who made made it will like it (I know its a staple food in the south here and people like it very much, same with SRK and action movies…Congress likes it very much).

I agree with the MVP of Sparksengr on Ram Gopal Verma. His movies are different, even if they are not the biggest hits. There is a flow in direction, acting is good and can see once type. BTW another movie I liked was malamaal weekley. The dialogues are good and it will make you laugh. Munnabhai2 is better than the pervious one, the ideas and implementations..it make more sense than the MBBS stuff.

13. tismarkhan - September 19, 2006

“…I agree with the MVP of Sparksengr on Ram Gopal Verma…”
sounds like u r reffering to me..but by any standars I am not the MVP, at least not anymore..

I would say sk, for highest contribution and for commenting most, and (I think) being most commented on as well…

planetsk of course, with his laloo post, gets the credit for bringing highest hits, but still fall short on comments and posts..

14. shravan - September 19, 2006

“I agree with the MVP of Sparksengr on Ram Gopal Verma. His movies are different, even if they are not the biggest hits.”

Yes. And he does come up with great names… “Ramgopal Verma ka Sholay”!!!!!

“I think then they should change the name of the movie to “Hakla Don”, and try to make some sort of parody or something.”

Haha. I know. That’ll be funny. But come on now. Our Shahrukh is a great actor. Haven’t you seen Trimurti? Or better yet, watch the scene where he’s in a hospital dying (in KHNH) – brilliant. If he ever opens an acting school, I wish Robert De Niro and Al Pacino would join it.

15. planetsk - September 19, 2006

“sounds like u r reffering to me..but by any standars I am not the MVP, at least not anymore..”

– By all standards you are the MVP.

“planetsk of course, with his laloo post, gets the credit for bringing highest hits, but still fall short on comments and posts..”

-Whatever..but this laloo guy shud also visit a psychologist..he might even get invited to Harvard.

“If he ever opens an acting school, I wish Robert De Niro and Al Pacino would join it.”

-But they have to take the pre-reqs : “Fundamentals of Hakla” and “How to steal someone else’s spouse/fiancee/lover” and “From Sunil Shetty to Altaf Raja”

16. Hiren - September 21, 2006

This Don should not be compared with Amitabh’s
Don but judged on its own merit. Hope Shahrukh looks convincing as Don.

17. cold - September 24, 2006

well SRK looks more like “Neo” from Matrix, than Don …..
also check out this link

18. Tismar - September 29, 2006

added another pic from the movie where i think our don is doing ‘kahike pan banaras wala’ with priyanka chopra if I am not wrong.
For some reason, clarity is screwed up when i brough it on this post but u can see better version where …
i found this on a slide show on bbc hindi website at
http://www.bbc.co.uk/hindi/specials/1656_don_pix/

19. ish - October 5, 2006

There were too many replies to this.I read the first few and of course I did read what was written in the post.

You’re right.We’re really running out of originality and creativity and hence you see stolen songs and remakes all around.Even though I must agree,the promo’s of the new Don do look good but it’s not fair.Because the old Don was a classic and if you are gonna make a new film on it,there will definately be comparisons.We have new technology now,new special effects,new cameras and new sound mixing devices,so it’s understood that it could always look better than the old Don.About the songs,I have to agree,they totally destroyed it.Kareena doesn’t look like she’s angry at Shahrukh in Yeh Mera Dil which is a very essential part of the song.Moreover,the songs don’t sound singable any more.Let’s see what the movie has to offer.It has managed to create a lot of hype though.

20. shashi - October 5, 2006

“The songs don’t sound singable any more”
What do you mean by singable…baby? Can’t you sing these songs? And does it mean old Don has singable(????) songs?
Come-on yaar…why always look down on remake? SLB has proved it that remake can work….
I only said that Shankar Ehssan Loy has done a great job in the music of Don. It’s always tough job to compose music for remake. Similarly, Ismail Darbar has given fantastic music for Devdas (and at that time no one has compared it with old Devdas)….Then why only with srk’s Don??(I am talking only about music…)
‘Don theme’ ‘Main hoo don’ ‘Aj ki rat’ all these songs are original and really good. Remix of Khaike pan is Ok and ye mra dil is not up to the mark (I agree)
But when soneone comments like this “its like some kind of poison killing me slowly” I wonder she doesn’t know the modern taste of music…

21. ish - October 5, 2006

Well Shashi,I agree with you on some parts.

The Old Don’s songs were singable yeah,you can still find people singing them in dance competitions.The new Don has more musical instrument based songs so you can’t go around singing them anymore.It’s the music that makes them attractive.

And we don’t exactly look down on remakes but still they’re unnecassary.I never believed Devdas shouldve been remade either and it’s not that I have something against Shahrukh or anything.He is my favorite actor too.Anyway we can further decide about the music and the performances only after we see the movie.


Leave a Reply

