jump to navigation

Indian Idol September 13, 2006

Posted by sk in Blogroll, Bollywood, Humor, Music, National.
trackback

Posting blogs on this site has been a very humbling experience for me during the last few days. I blogged about computers and software and no one cared a bit (pun intended). I tried my hand at humor and no one laughed. I tried to write a post about tennis and it turned out to be a double bagel (“Aargh!!! stop it already, it’s not even funny! Idiot!”). I even threatened to stop blogging but no one took note. So, I’ve decided to change tactics. Today’s blog is a my first attempt at a serious post (inspired by my cousin, Sriram :-)). It’s a pretty short post, because I have no idea what to write, but this is something I’ve been wanting to do for a long long time now. If this doesn’t work, I may have to take some tips from our MVP, Mr. Tismarkhan. So here goes:

This post is about two musical geniuses, Anu Malik and Himesh Reshammiya. Both of them are undoubtedly world class music composers, but I’m not going to get into that. In fact, this post is about their singing talents.

Anu Malik has been singing in Bollywood movies for over a decade now. Very few singers have the range that Anu Malik has in his voice. He has a brilliant command over the seven notes. When he sings “Dekho baarish ho rahi hai… it’s raining, it’s raining, it’s raining” or “tan tana tan tan tan tara. chalti hai kya nau se baara”, it’s very hard (in fact, impossible) not to stop everything that you’re doing and take notice. As lyricist Javed Akhtar once righly said, “There’s one earth, one sun, and one Anu.” His voice makes you feel alive.

Himesh Reshammiya has just started to establish himself in Bollywood. This multi-faceted personality not only sings and composes music, he also does perhaps the best Tarzan impersonation. His “Oh-ooooh-oh-oh” puts even Tarzan to shame. Emraan Hashmi should consider himself honored that such a great personality has done playback for him. Jagjit Singh once commented, “There are only three things in the 20th Century that would be remembered: Himesh’s birth,man’s conquest of the moon, and the breaking of the Berlin Wall.” He is unparalleled in the film industry.

In my opinion, Anu Malik is the greatest singer in the world (which explains why I have a bigger image of his). What do you think? Which one of these two deserves to be called the best singer in India (the world?). Or is it Bappi Lahari? Incidentally, he’s going to sing for A.R.Rahman in Guru. I wonder how Rahman manages to spot all this talent.

By the way, if you’re wondering, the mantle view of the images was done in Microsoft Max. Of course, why would you care?

Disclaimer: Most quotes etc. were about Lata and I borrowed them from here.

Comments»

1. Phoenix - September 13, 2006

Hahahha..hilarious..

I found you through the tag surfer..why on earth would you post this under computers&internet..

funny stuff.. check this other site out. http://www.bosey.co.in for similar humour.

Dont quit blogging.. I think your tactics are beginning to work. 😉

2. tismarkhan - September 13, 2006

I agree with phoneix..(by any chance did you hire him/her from your city?)

I can already see your posts ‘in hot post of the day’ next to scoble. Yea but you need to work on your tags. Is there a tag called ‘sarcasm’.?

Regarding greatest singer, you forgot some other talents too. Daler Mehendi and Altaf Raza. Had it not been for daler, Indian marriages, parties and movies would have looked lot different and had it not been for altaf,
abdul bhai’s cafe in the old city of hyderbad would have sounded much different.

btw, I did not comment much about tennis because I did not see any of the games (bcos we have no TV) and I could not match the emotions you guys were pouring in.

Actually, now I did take a note of MS max, bcos I realized picasa cannot do lot of things. I might try this max too.

I was doing some software reviews as well, but they are just sitting as saved draft on my live writer with atleast 10 other post, I need to refine them ship them out sometime soon..

and something tells me I have met your cousin sriram..

3. shashi - September 13, 2006

First thing you have asked a wrong question. Which one of these two deserves to be called the best singer in India (the world?)
First thing, both are not best singer of India (and of course, of world). There are so many singers out there, I just wonder why they need to put strain on their throat.
Both have nasal tome (which is pleasent to listen, only once in a while) and both are exposing (singing wise man 🙂 )so much that I am fed up to listen to them repetedly. I wish both stopped singing and give others a chance (from Indian idol or from sa re ga ma pa)..

4. Greatest Singer ever? « … And on the fourth day - September 13, 2006

[…] Sparksengr has a really nice post on two of India’s greatest singers. Give it a read when you get the time. It’s worth it. What’s up with the tags, though? “Computers & Internet” and “Technology & Software”?? Weird! […]

5. sk - September 13, 2006

Phoenix and Mr. tismarkhan, thanks. I don’t see why you find such a serious post funny, though. As far as the tags are concerned, I’ll change them. I sleepwalked through the whole tag-picking (rhymes with rag-picking) process. I’m sure this post will find a mention alongside Scoble’s. Only, we need to keep clicking on it ourselves for 1 or 2 days to increase the hit count. I don’t know how I left out Altaf Raja. I should have mentioned him and Daler too.

“and something tells me I have met your cousin sriram..”
You did. As for Microsoft Max – it doesn’t save images (it’s mainly for sharing them), which is sad. I had to copy-paste the screen to paint and cut the image.

” wish both stopped singing and give others a chance (from Indian idol or from sa re ga ma pa).. ”
I hope so too. 🙂

6. planetsk - September 13, 2006

The pic of Anu is hilarious..I heard that in India..Himesh became an idol for teenagers:)):))..the way he walks, his cap,his outfit became popular….he’s more than an artist..but I think he gave some great (copied??) tunes in the past 1-2 yrs..Himesh and Emaran (if they wear a cap and grow li’l beard) dont they have some resemblances??

“Regarding greatest singer, you forgot some other talents too. Daler Mehendi and Altaf Raza. Had it not been for daler, Indian marriages, parties and movies would have looked lot different and had it not been for altaf,abdul bhai’s cafe in the old city of hyderbad would have sounded much different.”

Altaf Raja sings awesomely bad..but perfect setting for Irani cafes in Hyderabad..but in the contest for the best singer he cannot make it as he got sing more awful and become a judge in atleast one of those talent shows..

Anu Malik is better than the best..no more comments on his singing talent..

7. ramare - September 13, 2006

I dont know how much of it is true!! But Himesh apparently has divine powers!! He summon the dead (rather undead).

http://www.expressindia.com/fullstory.php?newsid=68487

please watch next time you hear himesh sing!!

8. sk - September 14, 2006

That’s funny! 🙂

9. ruhi - September 17, 2006

Funnily, something like this seems to have happened to me too.. I hope my blog doesnt turn into a Bollywood News kind of blog 😦 Nobody reads whatever I write about business..they are only interested in Bollywood stuff.. I guess the number of Indians -1.2 bil- is really phenomenal…

Jokes Apart, the entire country will cry when Anu Malik/ Himesh die ,which wont be anytime soon (thankfully?)

10. sk - September 17, 2006

“I hope my blog doesnt turn into a Bollywood News kind of blog”

I wonder how you managed to find the Indonesian song, though (and even the Cliff Richards one). That, you shouldn’t stop! 🙂

11. ruhi - September 17, 2006

Sk,

I knew those two songs ..hahaa…

EXACTLY, how many users does this blog have??! Im so confusedd!! 😀

12. tismarkhan - September 17, 2006

Ruhi…
“…EXACTLY, how many users does this blog have??! ..”

EXACTLY 6 people have this blog..if you could see six handsome hulks (ok five, I will be modest) pics on the header, thats us.
and thats why we call it ‘sparks team blog’. No coincidence on number of characters in ‘sparks’.

‘about us’ page for this blog is somewhere in the pipeline ..although a clogged one.

Some of us including me have their own blog. I use to just repost all my stuff there, so that it will be collection of only MY posts but I do not think I will do that anymore.

“..Im so confusedd!! …”
Yes, we are good at that.

13. sk - September 18, 2006

We have 5. Most of the articles have been posted by three of us, sk, Mr.Tismarkhan, and planetsk (obviously not our real names – can’t disclose them for security reasons, Mr. Tismarkhan has a habit of offending people and the others want to avoid death threats – obviously Mr.tismarkhan’s the one who’s put our photos online). dilletante has posted one, while ramare hasn’t yet posted any (his only involvement in this blog site is to comment when I say something about Macs :-)). The sixth member, kal hasn’t joined us yet.  The last I heard, he was still busy reading English grammar books. :p

<*PJ Alert>So, basically, kal ho na ho, we’re blogging.</*PJ Alert>

14. Phoenix - September 18, 2006

See you have so many visitors now.. they always said I was lucky as a first customer. 😉

15. ruhi - September 18, 2006

Lol..you guys are hilarious.. Yes, I only remember seeing Sk, planetsk, tismerkhan posting. Sk and Planetsk, are you guys twins???! 😀 Why have u chosen names that are so similar?!

16. sk - September 18, 2006

“Sk and Planetsk, are you guys twins???! Why have u chosen names that are so similar?!”

Can’t you see? He’s copying me. I’m an inspiration to him. I’m his idol.

17. tismarkhan - September 18, 2006

ruhi..I will excuse you this time for not spelling my name right..next time I will issue a fatwa..

I once joked that planetsk is not a planet revolving around sk…No one laughed..I cease to be hillarious after that

but yes sk has pretty darn sense of humor and he laughs real hard too as you could see from some his comments..

18. sk - September 18, 2006

“I once joked that planetsk is not a planet revolving around sk…”

That was actually funny. Didn’t want to laugh and stroke your ego. 😀

19. ruhi - September 18, 2006

Tismarkhan,

Forgive me, wont ya? Btw, lets see how your fatwa goes!

sk,

Lets see how hard you laugh in your next post…lol.

20. shravan - September 19, 2006

“Lets see how hard you laugh in your next post…lol.”

I will, the next time someone says “RGV ka sholay”. AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

Changed my display name to avoid confusion. Hope planetsk doesn’t change it to planetshravan now. 😉

21. tismarkhan - September 19, 2006

so shravan finally decided to deal openly with the death threats..!

well other than that, there is one more thing..

for me using the real name on blog has only one drawback, in few days web search on me would show up every post, every comment I made on blogs..

and there are many reasons I do not want that to happen..

22. shravan - September 19, 2006

“so shravan finally decided to deal openly with the death threats..!”

No last name. See?? Anyway, shravan sounds better than sk.

23. Hiren - September 21, 2006

I read an Anu Malik article where he said that programs like Indian Idol where giving the established stars a run for their money. One should be grateful that a platform exists on which sudh unique talent can come out.

Himesh’s success is very creditable- tribute to patience and hard work.

24. tarun lal - July 30, 2007

love nd keep doing this type of work. god bles u , nd im with u , my guruji

25. hania - April 30, 2009

himesh is a good singer ,composer,actor,music director and a great
personality.
and he also so nice,sweet every thing .
anu malik is a teasing singer and ugly look.


Leave a Reply

